freedom of the press should be banned

slap-1.jpg

Other than the NYTimes, which at least outwardly bares the semblance of an objective publication, the other NY newspapers are tabloids that i wouldnt wipe my ass with.  I hate them in every way, and anyone who puts any stock into anything they read in the Post or Daily News other than for entertainment purposes on a train ride should be pimp slapped.

The way these publications covered the visit of Ahmadinejad was just embarrassing.  Every story they published about it was more akin to a journal entry, a rant based on some personal bias, or more often, an attempt to capitalize on the raw emotions of an embittered public by discerning what they felt most strongly about and then inflaming their fervor by dramatizing the story and masquerading their opinions as matters of fact. 

I know that no news publication is perfect, but why can’t the news just be the news?  Crazy idea, no?  Don’t tell me your opinion, just do your best to tell me exactly what happened and let me connect the dots myself.  I don’t care if you think Ahmadinejad is the devil incarnate, Daily News.  And I don’t appreciate you taking up my entire sports section a few months ago with “detailed coverage” of Alex Rodriguez’s supposed affair with an ugly man-looking stripper, New York Post (that story got the back AND front cover of the Post; the title was “STRAY-ROD”).  If I want to read a tabloid I’ll read People or the Enquirer, which at least have the decency not to operate under the guise of newspapers, and cover more interesting stories like Britney’s stretch marks and Tom Cruise sacrificing his still yet-to-be-seen-in-public love child in the name of Scientology. 

nypost-1.jpgnypost-saddam.JPEG

Part of the reason why all this pisses me off is because it’s embarrassing for Americans in the international arena.  Lee Bollinger inviting Ahmadinejad to speak at Columbia, only to introduce him as a cruel and petty dictator?  Why invite a head of state to speak, only to handicap the ability of the audience to impartially reflect on anything he says?  This article from Al Jazeera touches on this subject of how the “US media circus” was met in the international forum.

Also, I don’t think freedom of the press should be banned or curtailed (partly because I have a blog).  But a good bitch slap of these tabloids in the form of a boycott is well overdue.  I won’t hold my breath though…people are idiots. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Arab -isms, Culture, politics, VENTilation

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

