INTERNATIONAL PILLOW FIGHT — NYC!!!

img_0176.jpg

The good thing about boredom is that it inspires people to think of amazing ways to conquer it, and some of those ways are so cool that they catch on and become formidable weapons in the anti-boredom crusade that all the masses can employ and enjoy.  Example No. 1: this blog.  Example No. 2: International Pillow Fight Day.  Legend has it that one day, long ago, two young Canadians were bummed and bored because there were no hockey games on and the Cavs had just blew out the Raptors and the Blue Jays were well on their way to another third place finish in the AL East again, and so they decided that people needed to get together and do fun stuff more often, and just like that, Pillow Fight Day was created and spread like wildfire.  OK it may not have happened exactly like that, but it is as reasonable an explanation as any… you truth-seekers out there can just click the link above for the real story.  Anyway, I heard about it last minute, and at first I thought it’d be stupid, but then I got off my high-horse and realized it could be good fun. 

 And it was, God it was.  I got off the train at Union Square on Saturday and could see the feathers falling through the open grates on the subway ceiling…when I got out onto the streets the feathers were flying everywhere.  The crown of pillow gladiators was tightly packed and amazingly diverse: young and old [ok, more young], and it was true to it’s international creed, as evidenced by the different  languages in which people were shrieking and cursing….I vaguely remember how to say “I’m gonna rip your head off with my Sponge Bob pillow you filthy whore!” in German.   It was great because although navigating was difficult in the heart of the throng, nobody was really trying to hurt anyone else.  Most people were hitting people they knew hard but stuck to playful hits with strangers.  I did see a pair of broken glasses on the floor, but whoever brought those to a pillow fight wasn’t that bright anyway.  There were also a few pillow wielding psychos, of course, but they gravitated to each other seeking real competition amongst their fellow loose-canons.

Seeking a thrill of my own, I jumped into a heated battle with one of the crazies, and after fighting him off, the jam packed crowd seemed to disperse slightly around me…and when I turned around, I noticed a huge Ruben Studdard-on-crack lookin mothafucka lumbering towards me with a giant down sack in his hand.  As if in slow motion, he raised his pillow high in the air, preparing to bash my head in.  But I was one step ahead.  As he lowered his pillow toward me, I unleashed a mighty two-handed uppercut with my pillow that caught his sack by the tail, near his hands, sending his weapon into the air.  In the same motion, I swung my pillow around my head and clocked him in the face, thrusting him back to drown in the sea of bodies that would engulf him.  I was about to grab his shirt and pull him back to get him in position for me to unleash my patented roundhouse kick, but I decided to be merciful. Triumphant, I turned to walk back to my camera wielding compadre, only to be pummeled from the side by a gang of Japanese chicks.  That was the end of my adventure.

I took this short video below from the NYC fight..much more on youtube.

img_0191.jpgThis chick decided to fight the power by attacking a coach bus..and the Asian lady who’s trying to learn English.

img_0179.jpg this poor sap got clobbered

Aside from the fact that it really gets the blood flowin and blows off steam,  I really loved the concept behind the event: reclaiming public space.  People don’t use the public space that is provided nearly as much as they should or could, and most do so only when their is some sponsored event they can mooch off of.  Public means it’s ours.  We should be using it more often to do fun stuff, even it’s throwing around a football, having a picnic,  getting a tan or reading a book or…whatever. Something.  It doesn’t take a ton of organization, just a little motivation.  Kudos to those two Canadian dudes for reminding us of that.

img_0169.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Events, nYc, photography, youtube

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

