This extreme weather is scaring the crap out of me.

Weren’t we here in NY just complaining 2 weeks ago about how we were enduring an impossibly long winter, causing us to wear sweaters deep into May?  And now were on the verge of topping 100 degrees in early June, setting a new record?  And this humidity is like an energy-zapping parasite that drains the life  out of people.  You can’t breathe out there.    This is scary to me because even though we all know by now that industrialism has taken toll on the environment, the rate of tangible change is more rapid than I ever thought possible.  I grew up here, and the weather was so different then.  I can imagine telling my kids this story one day:

 “When I was your age, we had 4 seasons.” 

“Wow, really papa! Is that true? Four whole seasons!” 

“That’s right kids.  Summer, winter, and two things called Spring and Autumn.  They were magical things.  We had breezes, and air you could breathe easily.” 

“Wow papa!  Can you tell us the seasons story again!” 

“Sure.  When I was you age…”

Be sure to hold onto your Spring and Autumn memories so you can tell your kids about them one day. 

Oh, and also….START TAKING CARE OF THE FREAKING ENVIRONMENT by conserving as much as you can and being conscious of the effects of your consumption.  We only have one world. Let’s take care of it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Culture, Life, Random, VENTilation

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “This extreme weather is scaring the crap out of me.”

  1. green4u Says:

    I am sure there are millions of people like you (and me) who complained so much in May about the temp. There was only a handful of days in the 60’s and 70’s… those are my favorite days to walk the dog and be outside… to bad I will never say “remember in spring 2008 when we…”

    http://green4u.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

