I’m an American, and I want a Visa, NOW! [please?]

Ive been saying for a while now that I want to live abroad, for a short while at least, and experience life in a completely different environment.  Ive begun to travel a lot recently, but that has only motivated me even more to get off my ass in pursuit of adventure.  I have a great job here in NY, some stability, friends…but there are other great places besides NY, my friends will still be here and I can make new ones anywhere, and stability at 23 is kind of overrated.  It sounds romantic, but living abroad for a while is becoming an itch that I have scratch.

Actually, it’s more like an infected, open wound.  Why?  Because getting a Visa in the EU (my preferred destination) is so damn hard.  What happened to the good old days when an American could just go and settle anywhere he wanted just because he was an American? OK I don’t know if those days ever existed, but I think it was easier before because Americans never fell into the group of skill-less mass migrants who threatened to rely on public assistance; American workers generally had more money and skills and were usually a boon to foreign economies.  But the way things have been going, the EU has its own surplus of skilled and educated workers, and work visas are much more easily obtained by laborers from third world economies than skilled foreign competition.

Being an American sure has lost its luster. What the hell, Europe! Dont you want me to bring democracy to your people!  Freakin commies…

My company won’t relocate me to a European office because, frankly, Im not nearly important enough here to warrant visa sponsorship.  I don’t feel like studying abroad just so that I can get a work visa, which is what I really want — that would be way too expensive. Basically, unless I marry me a Frenchie, I’m on the outside lookin in.

Chicago is looking like the more likely destination if I plan on getting my ass out of NY anytime this decade.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friendship, Life, Travel

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

