A green gift for my new nephew

My new nephew, born Saturday.  I’m proud to say that he doesn’t resemble an alien as much as most newborns usually do.

But in a polluted world, he may come to resemble one.  He might breathe in too many exhaust fumes and his two eyes could merge into one big eye in the middle of his forehead.  I think that happened to some kid in Azerbaijan last year, or some other place youve never heard of.  A cyclops baby would have a hard life.  What if he needed glasses? He’d have to strap a monocle to his head.  I dont think his insurance would cover that.  And what if he walks by a cute girl and winks at her? He’d walk into the pole he didn’t see while his eye was closed.  He would be laughed at, mocked, driven to seclusion, and write a book no one would read.

                                                Im keeping an eye on my nephew’s future.

Seriously though, I can’t help but think of him now while I read the news…I wonder what the world is gonna be like for him when is an adult.  It scares me a little. But then I remember that the world he will live in will be the world that WE have created for him, the world that we are creating right now.  What more motivation can we ask for in order to start taking care of our planet…and of each other?

I’ll offer a tip for those of you who need help getting the ball rolling: consume less.  It’s so freaking easy to do.  Buy a sturdy water bottle that you can refill with your own filtered water. That simple task can save you hundreds of dollars a year by avoiding bottled water costs; eliminates the need to dispose of the bottles; decreases the demand for goods in plastic bottles which in turn saves millions of barrels of oil that are used to make all that plastic, increasing the supply and driving down costs so you also save at the pump; decreases our consumption of declining fresh water resources (at least in some cases, because many brands of bottled water get their product from the same sources at public tap water); and makes our world a lot cleaner. 

Of course my brother would not want you to read this… he keeps telling me about the yuppies who come into his store and buy bottles of Fiji water for $4 a pop.  You guys are making him a rich dude. 

But the fact is, in effect,  the real cost is much greater.  I hope it’s worth it to you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Events, Family, Life, photography

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

