George Carlin & Co: Open Up [your fuckin] Eyes

I was watching videos of George Carlin on youtube and man, that dude was a genius. RIP man. The great satirists just have a skill for cutting through the bullshit and explaining things to people in a way that not only makes sense, but is also funny as hell. And it’s not just about politics — it’s about all of the many forces and waves tugging at and crashing around us that try to move us, shape us, scare us so that they can then be the ones to comfort us, and turn us into sheep so that they can herd us into cages locked the second we let others think on our behalf.

But the greats like Carlin and Bill Maher and Jon Stewart clear the fog a bit. Not to say you should believe whatever it is that they say, but if you listen, youll notice that theyre not telling you what to believe, like your politicians, parents, teachers, and priests (rabbis/imams) do; theyre telling you to open up your eyes and start thinking for yourself.

Here are a few great clips i came across:

this one explains why I am a francophile:

More videos to come, but I have to leave the office before they make me do work.

ciao

Explore posts in the same categories: Argumentative, Culture, Faith, Humor, Life, politics, tV, youtube

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “George Carlin & Co: Open Up [your fuckin] Eyes”

  1. jc1226 Says:

    With the passing of George Carlin, the iconic political and social, irreverential, comedian of the baby boomer generation, there seems to be a growing groundswell of nostalgia for those late ‘60’s and 70’s. Every time we hear one of George’s biting remarks or blue collar everyday life observations, most of us baby boomers remember back to the time when we first heard his comedy skits either on the radio or on his album, “The seven words you can never say on TV”. We were probably listening to his comedy under a haze of smoke (Except for yours truly, of course. I never inhaled, though Lord knows I tried. The incessant coughing just made me nerdier than I already was.).

    Is it me or has our generation entered the Nostalgic Age? Why else would we be so excited to see another Indiana Jones sequel? Whenever we hear that Clint Eastwood is doing another movie we hope he is on the right side of the camera this time, reliving his Dirty Harry days or sitting on his horse wearing a sombrero, serape, and that mangy ol’ cheroot dangling from his lips saying virtually nothing the whole movie and yet making us want more. And when Saturday Night Live airs reruns from their first few years with Dan Aykroyd, Jim Belushi, Chevy Chase, Bill Murray and the rest, do you notice that they run it during “ old people’s hours”, I E. before 11:00PM ( personally I’m thankful)?

    Why is the only music we consider worth listening to classic rock? There is no new music for those of us over 45. Hip Hop- well, most of us considers it an art form, not music. Pop music…are you kidding? Jessica Simpson, Britney Spears, and those bands with the funny names…I don’t think so! Not like our bands; Cream, The Doors, The Electric Prunes, The Turtles…now there’s some names you can wrap your bellbottoms around. And, Country…well we still have Willie but no more Waylon. It’s just not the same. Artists like the Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, Neil Young, James Taylor, Tom Petty and even Neil Diamond, are as popular today as they were 30 years ago. Many of them have made a resurgence in recent years; all the more proof that the Nostalgic Age is upon us. All of you who know someone over 50 who is still playing in a rock band and trying to make it big (this author included), raise your hands.

    Each time I hear the theme song for the sitcom, Mash, I get a feeling that something great has been lost, even though the reruns are everywhere. When Alan Alda played a recurring role on the West Wing, I wonder how much their Nielsen ratings increased in our demographic? But, was his hair a little thinner and a little grayer? Isn’t it hard to see some of our most endearing generational figures growing old and becoming, well senior citizens… kind of like many of us? The recent rumors that Paul Newman, now 83 (!),is ailing makes me heartsick. The very first movie I ever saw as a teenager was Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. That movie defines who I was back then and Robert Redford and Paul are still two of my heroes.

    Can I really be considered an “older man “now? I feel just like I did 30 years ago on the inside (though I can’t say the same for the outside). Career-wise I have peaked and am now on the downward slope of my working life. I choose jobs more for how they make me feel rather than how much they pay. Retirement is now something I can almost see on the not too distant horizon. And, oh my God, my son is the same age as I was when he was born! I can’t believe that I am actually looking forward to becoming a grandpa. I used to be the youngest in the room. When did I become the oldest?

    The world back then had its problems. We had a conflict few Americans supported in a land far away (At least we learned a lesson and now cherish our warriors, even if we don’t like the war.), gas lines, the loss of respect for the oval office as we watched Richard Nixon stepping onto the helicopter for the last time. Racial unrest was simmering just below the surface.

    We are the generation that watched a man land on the moon back when a single computer filled an entire room. We have since watched the computer shrink to something held in our hand. We started out using dial phones, then push button, to portable to car phones to cell phones that now someone can use it to text, go on the internet, download music, use as a GPS, and so much more. (That someone is not me. Calls come in, calls go out…that’s it…period…forever!)

    The one thing I am just now learning is that nostalgia can be a dangerous pastime. Everything always looks better and brighter in the rear view mirror. It’s now more important than ever to take each day…no, make that each minute, one at a time. Enjoy now because that’s all we are promised. Don’t leave words and feelings left unsaid. Tell your kids you love them. And go kiss you spouse. That’s where I am going as soon as I finish this sentence.


Leave a Reply

